Architects are highly trained professionals who have been licensed by the ARB. As members of the ARB, they are bound by the Architects Act and ARB Bylaws, and are expected to comply with the ARB’s Code of Professional Conduct. Once licensed, all architects must maintain their membership in good standing, inclusive of the ARB's mandatory Continuing Professional Development (CPD) and mandatory professional liability insurance.


The ARB confirms the competence of its members through a rigorous process:

  • meeting the education requirement;

  • completing professional internship;

  • passing extensive examinations;

  • be a person of good character

  • obtaining an ARB licence.



Under the Architects Act and ARB Policies, the words “Full Member” and “Architect” and the professional title “ARB Architect” are reserved for architects—those applicants who meet the education, experience, and examination requirements for engaging in the full range of activities defined as the practice of architecture in Barbados.

The Architects Act sets out the protected scope of work for the practice of architecture in Barbados. Only architects, through a Certificate of Practice, may offer services to the public within this protected scope of work.


Once licensed, architects can vote at the BIA Annual General Meeting, run for election to gain a voting seat on the BIA Council, volunteer on BIA Committees and Task Groups, as well as play a key role in training future architects.

Architects Registration Board

​Ms. Deborah Richards 

Secretary (Ag.) for Chairman

C/O Ministry of Transport and Works

Pine East - West Boulevard

The Pine, St. Michael

Tel: (246) 536-0101


Mr. Robert O'Neal

Bsc., Dip., Arch., BIA.

Design Collaborative

Tel: (246) 426-1741


Mr. Frederick Johnson

Dipl.Arch' (Ox) RIBA BIA

Frederick Johnson Architects Ltd,

Tel: (246) 228 9054


Website: http:www//

Mr. Kurt R. G. Bourne

B.A. (Hons), M.Arch., MBA, RA, BIA

LEED Green Associate

ADCM Consultancy Inc

Tel: (246) 537-4030


Mr. Pierre Tatem

Dip. Arch, B.Arch, M.Arch

Tatem Architects Inc

Tel: (246) 233-1111



The Architects Registration Act provides for the constitution and procedures of the Architects Registration Board. The board consists of the Chief Technical Officer, Ministry of Public Works and Transport, ex-officio or nominee; one person appointed by the Minister; and four registered architects appointed by the Minister on the nomination of the Barbados Institute of Architects. All members of the Board, other than the ex-officio member, shall hold office for a term of 3 years, but are eligible for re-appointment for a maximum of two consecutive terms. All such members are eligible for re-appointment after the expiration of one year thereafter.

Following the amendment of the Act The Board established a mandate based upon the board’s interpretation of the Architects Registration Act, 2003-5 regulations, section 19(1) (dated 21st April, 2003), and the Architects Registration (Amendment) Act, 2005-28 (dated 8th December, 2005). Click below to learn more.